2019 promises to be an exciting season for the Swan 45 Class. With revitalised and pro-active class management, Swan 45 racing will continue appeal to a broad range of yachtsmen.   A fundamental philosophy exists within the class to constrain running costs and to reward owners with pleasurable competition. Strictly owner driven, with a limited number of professional sailors onboard and a limited stock of new sails allowed each season, the aim is to ensure racing is close and exciting.  The Swan 45 Class benefits from its own PRO and, at each Class event, will race multiple Windward-Leeward races on dedicated courses.

Class Management

JAN DE KRAKER – President

Swan 45 Owner for 5 years, with a long-time knowledge of the class and its Owners and a deep commitment in its development. The President is working closely with the Class Manager and the Technical team and is liaising with the Class Owners’ queries.

ANDREW YATES – Class Chief Measurer

Chief Measurer for all Swan One Design Classes, along with other major international classes. RORC Rating Office Technical Consultant, Naval Architect & Build Project Manager. 

ARIANE MAINEMARE – International Race Officer

Highly-respected race officer, with considerable experience across the full range of the sport, including Olympic classes, Match-Racing, TP52s, Classics and Superyachts, along with running grand prix level European and World Championships in both one design and handicap fleets.

CLAUDIA TOSI – Class Manager

Responsible for the day-to-day coordination and communication for all Swan One Design Classes, working closely with the Class Presidents and the Technical teams.


The current Class Rules were approved on January 1st, 2019 and are available here. The Swan 45 Class achieved World Sailing recognised status 2005 allowing it to host an annual World Championship.

Racing Format

The Swan 45 class takes part in The Nations Trophy Leagues, a circuit of events dedicated to all Swan One Design Yachts. You can find here the Overall Ranking of the Nations Trophy Med League 2018 for the Swan 45 Class.

Swan 45 World Championship Hall of Fame

  • 2004 Mintaka Stefano Polti 2006 Bellicosa Massimo Ferragamo 2007 Plenty Alex Roepers 2008 Earlybird Christian Nagel / Hendrik Brandis 2009 Charisma Nico Poons 2010 Earlybird Christian Nagel / Hendrik Brandis 2012 Earlybird Christian Nagel / Hendrik Brandis 2013 Samantaga Philippe Moortgat / Patrick van Heurck 2014 Earlybird Christian Nagel / Hendrik Brandis 2015 vanUDEN Stiching Benodet 2016 Elena Nova Christian Plump 2017 Porron IX Luis Senis 2018 Porron IX Luis Senis